Printer friendly version Printer friendly version

Heatmiser - Mic City Sons [New, 180g Vinyl]

Genre: Rock (Indie)
Product code (SKU):  Caroline
Weight: 300 g
Out of stock

An indie rock supergroup of sorts, featuring songwriters Elliot Smith and Neil Gust (of No.2), as well  as Sam Coomes (of Quasi) and the multitalented Tony Lash. Thhis is the bands final, and perhaps best, album and features a decidedly more pop feel than its predecessors and marks Smith's maturation into the role of the band's visionary. 

From the opening notes of the swaggering, bass-heavy "Get Lucky" to conclusion of the album with a soothingly soft hidden track, Mic City Sons is an outstanding collection of diverse and invigorating tracks. Songs like "Plain Clothes Man" and "You Gotta Move" exhibit the interplay of soulful, smooth vocals over gentle guitar strumming that has been so evident in Smith's solo work. The Gust penned tunes, like "Cruel Reminder" and "Eagle Eye" are more rugged and aggressive, but complement Smith's songs brilliantly. There are no weak tracks here - in fact, "Pop In G" and "See You Later" are two of the best indie rock songs of the '90s - and the album flows incredibly well. 

Despite the success Heatmiser's  members have achieved since their disbanding, it's unfortunate that this collective decided to split up just when they had reached such a creative peak.

Track Listing:

1. "Get Lucky"   2:50
2. "Plainclothes Man"  
3. "Low-Flying Jets"   2:50
4. "Rest My Head Against the Wall"  
5. "The Fix Is In"  
6. "Eagle Eye"  
7. "Cruel Reminder"  
8. "You Gotta Move"  
9. "Pop in G"   3:18
10. "Blue Highway"   2:48
11. "See You Later"  
12. "Half Right" (hidden track)


n.b. If this is shown as 'out of stock', please complete the 'Any Questions' section below to be informed when this is available again. 

Any questions?

Please use the following form to request information.

Your name:


Please specify your question about Heatmiser - Mic City Sons [New, 180g Vinyl]:

Type the numbers you see in the picture below